AB de Villiers
AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers picks his all-time IPL XI; chooses MS Dhoni over Virat Kohli

2 mins read :

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s key player AB de Villiers has named his all-time IPL XI.

Former South Africa captain, as well as Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman AB de Villiers, has picked up his all-time Indian Premier League (IPL) playing XI, where he chose seven Indian players and four overseas cricketers prior to the IPL 2021 as well.

AB de Villiers, who plays under the captaincy of Virat Kohli for Royal Challengers Bangalore, named Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni as its captain. The experienced batsman also chose his captain and Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma in the playing XI too.

De Villiers also kept himself in his all-time IPL playing XI as one of the four overseas players as well.

“Last night I was thinking that if I pick my IPL XI and I include myself, how bad would that look. So, opening the batting, I would pick someone whom I started with at Delhi, Viru (Virender Sehwag) at 1 and someone who I think has played some of the best cricket in the world in the last five years, Rohit at No. 2,” AB de Villiers told Cricbuzz in an interaction.

“Then obviously Virat at No. 3, followed by I’d say either Williamson, or Smith, or myself these are the two replacements. Ben Stokes at 5, MS at six as captain, and at No. 7, I’d put Jaddu, Mr. Jadeja. Rashid Khan at 8, Bhuvi at 9, Kagiso Rabada at 10 and Bumrah at 11,” he again added.

However, he didn’t pick the swashbuckling left-handed batsman Suresh Raina, who is also the second-highest run-getter in the history of the tournament. He also dropped the pace-spearhead Lasith Malinga, who is currently the highest wicket-taker in the history of the league as well.

Also Read  IPL 2021: 3 franchises disappointed with BCCI's choice of venues

The 14th edition of the league is all set to begin on April 9 where Royal Challengers Bangalore will play the series opener against Mumbai Indians.

Playing XI of AB de Villiers:

Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson/Steve Smith/AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, MS Dhoni (C and WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah

facebook whatsapp twitter linkedin

Check Also

Sanjay Manjrekar

Sanjay Manjrekar Opines On IPL Having 10 Teams

2 mins read : Sanjay Manjrekar shared his thought about adding more teams to the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *