australian girls cricket team
Australian Girls Cricket Team: Complete Squad

Australian Girls Cricket Team: About, Complete Squad and Next Game

2 mins read :

The Australian Girls Cricket Team is the most successful women’s cricket team in cricket history, given they hold the first rank in all three formats of the game. The Australian Girls Cricket team was founded in the year 2003 after the Australian Cricket Board decided to merge with the Women’s Cricket Australia. This merger led to the immense success that the team sees today with a stronger financial base as well as added to the strength of the team. 

The team has the most number of world cup records to their name (6) in the year 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005 and 2013. The Australia Women’s Cricket team also has the most number of wins, 246, in ODI cricket. They have won the World Twenty20 thrice in the years 2010, 2012 and 2014, which is the highest number for any women’s team. 

The current coach of the team is Matthew Mott who is a former Victoria batsman and is captained by Meg Planning. Recently, the Australian Girls Cricket Team has been listed as the country’s leading team for the connection they share with the fans of the country.

The survey was conducted among 5000 people and the team won the survey based on their iconic victory over the Indian team at the MCG in 2020. 

australian girls cricket team
The 2018 ICC T20 World Cup Champions Lifting The Trophy

Australian Girls Cricket Team: Upcoming Matches

The Australian team is currently preparing to fight against the women team of New Zealand, scheduled to take place in Hamilton on 28th March 2021 in the 1st T20I in Australia Women Tour of New Zealand. 

Australian Girls Cricket Team: Highest Records

T20 Total: 191/4, against Ireland, 2014

ODI Total: 412/3 against Denmark, 1997

Individual ODI Innings: Belina Clark 229* against Denmark, 1997

Test Total: 569/6 against England, 1998 (Declared)

Individual Test score: Ellyse Perry 213* against England, 2017

Australia Girls Cricket Team: Former Players

Some of the former players of the Australia Women’s team are- Belinda Clark, Betty Wilson, Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Karen Rolton.

Australia Cricket Team: Supporting Staff

  • Head Coach: Australia Justin Langer
  • Batting Coach: England Graeme Hick
  • Fast Bowling Coach: Australia David Saker
  • Spin Bowling Coach: Canada John Davison
  • Fielding Coach: Australia Brad Haddin
  • Fielding Consultant: The United States/Australia Mike Young
Watch: Australian Girls Cricket Team Journey to the T20 Title

Australia Girls Cricket Team: Current Squad

BowlerMegan Schutt
BatsmanElyse Jane Villani
BatsmanBethany Louise Mooney
BatsmanRachael Louise Haynes
All RounderEllyse Alexandra Perry
BatsmanNicole Elizabeth Bolton
BowlerNicola Jane Carey
batsmanMeghann Moira Lanning
batterJessica Louise Jonassen
All RounderSophie Grace Molineux
All RounderDelissa Maree Kimmince
BowlerAmanda-Jade Wellington
BowlerAshleigh Gardner
Wicket-keeperAlyssa Jean Healy

facebook whatsapp twitter linkedin

Check Also


IPL 2021 all set to start on April 9, reveals BCCI source

2 mins read : IPL 2021 to start on April 9, reveals BCCI source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *