cricket ICC
Marlon Samuels in 2016 World T20 final against England. Photo courtesy: Reuters

Man of the final in every edition of cricket ICC World T20

5 mins read :

The cricket ICC world T20 is scheduled to be held in India this year. But the tournament may be shifted to another country due to the second wave of Covid-19 pandemic that India is currently grappling from.

UAE is the frontrunner to host the cricket ICC World T20 after it successfully scheduled the IPL 2020 last year.

The cricket ICC World T20 was originally scheduled to be held in 2020 but it was postponed to 2021 due to the pandemic. Another postponement is unlikely, and the ICC may go ahead with the options available.

Cricket ICC World T20 has always provided great entertainment across its 6 editions since the first tournament was held in 2007. The finals of Cricket ICC World T20 have always been high on entertainment. CricChronicle takes a look at the man of the final in every edition of World T20.

EditionWinnerMan of the finalPerformance
2007IndiaIrfan Pathan3/16, 3*
2009PakistanShahid Afridi1/20, 54*
2010EnglandCraig Kieswetter63
2012West IndiesMarlon Samuels78, 1/15
2014Sri LankaKumar Sangakkara52 not out
2016West IndiesMarlon Samuels85 not out

Cricket ICC 2007 World T20 final

Winner: India; Man of the final: Irfan Pathan

Cricket ICC
Irfan Pathan

Senior Indian players such as Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, and Sourav Ganguly have given this tournament a miss, and even BCCI was skeptical of this format. And hence, BCCI sent a new captain in MS Dhoni to lead India in World T20. And as it turned out, India won the inaugural cricket World T20 to give this format a big boost.

Also Read  Rohit Sharma reveals the only thing that could stop Rishabh Pant

It was a cracker of a final with arch-rivals India and Pakistan battling it out for the trophy in the title round. India posted 157/5, thanks to Guatam Gambhir’s 75.

India sent back Pakistan’s top-order cheaply. But still India had to battle Pakistan’s middle-order match-winners in Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik. Irfan Pathan then came on to bowl, and pick up their wickets to put India on the path to win. He ended up with 3 for just 16 runs in his 4 overs, and walked away with the man of the final award. However, critics felt Gambhir was more deserving of the award for his 75, while the next best score was Rohit Sharma’s 30 not out.

However, it was not an easy win. Pakistan’s Mishabh-ul-Haq had almost spoiled India’s party until he played a false stroke in the last over to hand India a win by 5 runs.   

2009 World T20 final

Winner: Pakistan; Man of the final: Shahid Afridi

Shahid Afridi – Photo courtesy: AFP

After losing the last edition’s final by a whisker, Pakistan made amends by beating Sri Lanka in the final of the 2009 cricket ICC World T20. And the man of the final was Shahid Afridi who first took 1/20 in his 4 overs, and then batted sensibly to score 54 not out and help Pakistan chase down 139 with 8 wickets to spare. Afridi curbed his natural attacking game to bat the opposition out of the final. He played every ball on merit to score 54 not out off 40 balls with 2 fours and 2 sixes. He guided Pakistan to win in the company of Shoaib Malik (24 not out).

Also Read  Sachin Tendulkar tests positive for COVID-19 pandemic

Cricket ICC 2010 World T20 final

Winner: England; Man of the final: Craig Kieswetter

Cricket rivals Australia and England were in the title round in the 2010 cricket ICC World T20 final. Australia could manage just 147/6, with David Hussey top-scoring with 59. England keeper-cum-opener Craig Kieswetter then anchored the chase with a knock of 63 off 49 balls with 7 fours and 2 sixes to walk away with the man of the final award. Kevin Pietersen gave good support with 31-ball 47.

2012 World T20 final

Winner: West Indies; Man of the final: Marlon Samuels

Marlon Samuels – Photo courtesy: Reuters

On a slow-paced Colombo track, West Indian Marlon Samuels played the innings of his life, cracking a masterful 78 off 56 balls with 3 fours and 6 sixes as his team posted a competitive 137/6. The next best score in the innings was by captain Darren Sammy (26 not out). Sri Lanka, although playing at home, just could not counter the demons in the pitch and were bowled out for 101 to lose the match by 36 runs. Sunil Narine took 3/9. But Samuels walked away with the man of the final award as he also bagged a wicket for 15 runs in his 4 overs.

Cricket ICC 2014 World T20 final

Winner: Sri Lanka; Man of the final: Kumar Sangakkara

cricket ICC
Kumar Sangakkara – photo courtesy: Cricflare

After losing two World T20 finals, Sri Lanka was third time lucky when they defeated India in the Cricket ICC 2014 World T20 title round. After restricting India to 130/4, with Virat Kohli top-scoring with 77, Lasith Malinga-led Sri Lanka overhauled the target with 6 wickets to spare. Kumar Sangakkara finished off the chase with 52 not out off 35 balls with 6 fours and 1 six. Sri Lankan players lifted their favourite hero and man of the final, Sangakkara, over their shoulders to give a memorable farewell to him. Sri Lanka finally won an ICC tournament after losing four title rounds, across formats.

Also Read  India vs Eng Test 3: Motera Stadium Pitch Report, Match Prediction, Probable 11, Stats.

2016 World T20 final

Winner: West Indies; Man of the final: Marlon Samuels

Marlon Samuels during the Cricket World T20 final in 2016 – Photo courtesy: Reuters

Both West Indies and England were eyeing their second cricket ICC World T20 title in the 2016 tournament final. And it looked to be going England’s way as they needed to defend 19 runs off the last 6 balls. But West Indian Carlos Brathwaite chose this occasion to make his name immortal in cricket history by slamming the first four balls bowled by all-rounder Ben Stokes for sixes to seal a memorable title triumph. However, it was the man of the final, Marlon Samuels, who had set up the chase with a knock of 85 not out off 66 balls with 9 fours and 2 sixes as West Indies chased down 156 to win their second World T20 title.

facebook whatsapp twitter linkedin

Check Also

AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers Says He Will Not Return to International Cricket

2 mins read : South Africa’s batting great AB de Villiers is not going to be returning to international cricket, as per the news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *