Hardik, Shaw, Bhuvneshwar Out For WTC Final, England Tests As India Announced Test Squad

2 mins read :

India announced the squad for the upcoming WTC Final and England Test. Hardik Pandya, Prithvi Shaw, Bhuvneshwar Kumar dropped.

India have dropped the all-rounder Hardik Pandya, opener Prithvi Shaw and bowlers Kuldeep Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar from their squad for the World Test Championship final. They will play against New Zealand and also play the five-match Test series against England after that. Hardik, who had a back injury in 2018, has been recovered but that injury kept him off any bowling duties for several months.

However, he has last played a Test in 2018 against England. On the other hand, Ravindra Jadeja, who earlier suffered injuries during India’s tour to Australia last year, has returned. Along with him, his replacement in the home Tests against England – Axar Patel has also retained his place after having a stunning show with the ball. Meanwhile, Hanuma Vihari too has returned. Notably, he had missed the home Tests against England after sustaining a hamstring injury.

However, India have three openers now in Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal. Prithvi Shaw, who was out-of-form during the Australia series and lost his place following twin failures in the Day-Night Adelaide Test, couldn’t find a place now too. However, he has been going through a purple patch as he finished the Vijay Hazare trophy as the leading run-scorer and also did well for Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2021.

Team India

Meanwhile, Kuldeep Yadav, who was with the team in Australia and during England Test at home, has lost his place. But India’s pace unit will get the service of Mohammed Shami again, who has returned recently in the recently-suspended IPL after a long injury layoff since the Adelaide Test. Alongside him, there are Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Siraj. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who last played a Test in 2018, is yet to return.

Also Read  What Sushant Rajput was going through on his mind to commit suicide?

However, after the WTC final in Southampton, the Indian team will travel to Nottingham for the first Test against England from August 4. The second Test will take place at Lord’s from August 12; then they will travel to Leeds for the third Test from August 25, before coming back to London for the fourth Test at the Oval from September 2 whereas the fifth Test will take place in Manchester from September 10 as well.

India Squad for WTC Final and England Tests:

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Ssouiraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

facebook whatsapp twitter linkedin

Check Also

MS Dhoni

Deepak Chahar Reveals How MS Dhoni Made Him A Powerplay Bowler

2 mins read : Former India cricketer MS Dhoni has guided several young players throughout his career and one of them is speedster Deepak Chahar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *