The Chennai Super Kings played eight IPL Finals, winning three
The Dhoni led army lifts the IPL Trophy

Indian Premier League: History.

3 mins read :

The Indian Premier League, commonly known as the IPL, is a professional cricket league, conducted in the Twenty20 format and is the biggest domestic cricket league on the globe.  The IPL history goes back to 2008 when the league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), IPL is the most-attended cricket league. With a brand value of ₹475 billion, it is one of the largest contributors to the GDP of India. 

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians have won the tournament four times

In 2007, the BCCI announced that a new form of franchise-based Twenty20 tournament will be held and will be called IPL. It was also stated that the tournament will be headed by a Governing Council which will include seven former Indian players as well as BCCI officials and the top two teams would qualify directly for that years’ Champions League Twenty20. 

Team History

The teams participating in the tournament would represent the top cities of the country. After the auction, the teams that were announced were based in Delhi, Hyderabad, Chennai, Kolkata, Bangalore, Jaipur, Mohali and Mumbai. 

The tournament commenced in 2008 and soon after, in 2010, two more franchises, Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala joined the league before the fourth season of IPL, which was about to start in 2011. However, later in 2011, it was announced that the Kochi Tuskers would be terminated as it breached the BCCI protocols. 

Soon after in 2012, the team from Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers who won the 2009 IPL was terminated and up for auction. Later on, it was back in the league with the name of Sunrisers Hyderabad. Pune Warriors India too was suspended in 2013 as the team owners failed to provide financial guarantee to the BCCI. 

Also Read  IPL Auction 2021: Available Players List, Dates and Salary Cap of Teams

In 2015, the Chennai Super Kings (Two-time champions) and Rajasthan Royals (inaugural seasons’ champion) were suspended for two years for being involved in a high-profile match-fixing scandal and betting. Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions replaced the two teams for the following two seasons. 

Format of IPL

Currently, eight teams play each other in a home-and-away and play against all the participating teams in the league phases, twice. After the conclusion of the league phase, the top four teams qualify for the semi-final playoffs. The top two teams from the league phase play against each other in the first Qualifying match, the winner qualifies for the final of the tournament and the losing team gets another chance by playing in the second Qualifying match. 

IPL 2020 Tourament confirmed
The tournament was postponed due to the pandemic

Meanwhile, the teams holding the third and the fourth position plays off one another in the eliminating match. The winner from this match plays off against the losing team from the first Qualifying match. The winner from the second qualifying match proceeds to play against the winner from the first Qualifying match in the finals, leaving their mark in IPL history.  

Team Composition Rules

  • A team strength must be kept between 18-25 players.
  • A team must have no more than 8 overseas players (Players from teams other than India).
  • Under-19 players must not be included in the squad unless they have played List A or First-class cricket.
  • In playing eleven, a team can have a maximum of 4 overseas players. 

Match Rules

As IPL uses television timeouts, there is no time limit in which an innings must be completed. However, if a team is found to misuse this privilege, they can be given a penalty. A two-and-half-minute strategic time out is also given to each team during each innings. Since 2018, the Umpire Decision Review System is used in all matches, each team getting one chance to review per innings. 

Also Read  Harbhajan Singh to make comeback in Indian Jersey!

IPL history has witnessed 12 seasons since its commencement in 2008. The 13th season was speculated to be held in 2020 March-April but had to be postponed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic across the globe.

The next season is to be held in September-November window in the UAE. Previously, for a couple of times, IPL has been played outside India, the first time being in South Africa in 2009 and in 2014, India and UAE jointly hosted the tournament. 

facebook whatsapp twitter linkedin

Check Also

How many cricket stadiums are there in India

How many cricket stadiums are there in India? Which are the top 5 grounds?

4 mins read : India is the hub of cricket now. Since India won the 1983 World Cup in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *