Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma Nominated For Khel Ratna while Ishant, Deepti, and Shikhar make the Arjuna Award list!

3 mins read :

India’s ODI’s and T20I’S vice-captain Rohit Sharma is nominated for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award2020. While Shikhar Dhawan, Ishant Sharma, and Deepti Sharma have been nominated for the Arjuna Award.

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and sports had asked invitations for the respective awards with the period of consideration starting 1st January of 2016 and lasting to 31st December 2019.

The Hit-Man

The Nominees:

Rohit Sharma is the permanent member of India’s ODI and T20 team. Earlier in 2019, he became the first player in history to score five ODI hundred in World Cup. He also grabbed the opportunity to open the innings for India in Test Cricket after World Cup. Rohit was also named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the year 2019.

Dhawan and Ishant
Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan is India’s attacking opener batsman and holds the record for the fastest Test Match century on his debut match. He is the only batsman in the world who holds two consecutive “Golden Bats” in the ICC Champion’s Trophy for scoring most runs. The 34-year-old played 136 ODIs, 60 T20Is, and 34 Test Matches in his career. With over 6000 runs in ODI with an impressive average of 45.14, he is undoubtedly one of India’s finest opening batsman. 

The opener duo
The Opening Pair

Ishant Sharma, on the other hand, is the permanent member of India’s Test Cricket Team. He played 97 Test Matches, 80 ODIs, and 14 T20Is. The pace bowler took 297 Test Wickets with an impressive balling average of 32.39. He is one of the most talked-about Indian fast bowlers after Bumrah and Shami in the last three years. Ishant also holds the record of taking most wickets by an Indian pacer outside Asia. 

Also Read  Asia Cup Postponed: Rescheduled in 2021.

Deepti Sharma holds the record of scoring the highest WODI run by an Indian player. The 22-years-old Indian female cricketer is the only Indian player to take 6 wickets in an innings in ODI cricket. In January 2020, she was selected in India’s squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia.  

Deepti Sharma Bowling

What the BCCI President Says!

In a press release Sourav Ganguly, the president of BCCI said,” We went through a lot of data and considered various parameters before shortlisting the nominees. Rohit Sharma has set new benchmark as a batsman and achieved scored people thought were not possible in the shorter forms of the game. We feel he is worthy of getting the prestigious Khel Ratna award for his commitment, conduct, consistency, and leadership skills.”

The BCCI President

He also added,” Ishant Sharma is the most senior member of the Test Squad and his contribution has been vital in Indian Team’s long run as the number one Test side. Fast bowlers are prone to injuries and Ishant Sharma has had a fair share of them but he has fought hard to be back on the park every time. Shikhar has been consistently scoring at the top and his performances in ICC events have been significant. Deepti is a genuine allrounder and her contribution to the team has been vital.”

BCCI treasurer Arun Singh said,” The last Indian cricketer to win Khel Ratna was Virat Kohli and I hope Rohit Sharma too gets this top award as he thoroughly deserves it. Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have justified their talent and have put in performances that their fans can be proud of. Deepti Sharma has contributed both with bat and ball and deserves her nominations”. 

Also Read  Indian Premier League: History.

Watch more:

facebook whatsapp twitter linkedin

Check Also

Asia Cup

Asian Cricket Council Confirms Cancelled Asia Cup To Be Played In 2023

2 mins read : The cancelled Asia Cup 2021 will be held in 2023, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has confimred on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *