David Warner
David Warner

SRH Sacks David Warner From The Captaincy, Fans Back Him

2 mins read :

On Saturday, the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) removed David Warner from captaincy.

SRH also announced that Kane Williamson will take over the reins from David Warner for the remaining part of the ongoing IPL 2021. Having won only one game so far out of the six so far, the Hyderabad based franchise are currently placed at the bottom of the points table.

In their official statement about this, SRH said, “SunRisers Hyderabad would like to announce that Kane Williamson will be taking over the captaincy for tomorrow’s match and for the remainder of IPL 2021. The team management has also made the decision that they will be changing their overseas combination for tomorrow’s match against Rajasthan Royals.”

Meanwhile, the franchise has also said that the decision wasn’t an easy to replace a veteran player like David Warner. Notably, he had led SRH to the play-offs last season. But the SRH management has revealed that they will bring some changes when the team takes on the Rajasthan Royals (RR) on Sunday at the Arun Jaitley Stadium. Considering this, all-rounder Jason Holder might retun to the playing eleven.

The statement further added, “This decision has not come lightly as the management respects the enormous impact David Warner has had for the franchise over a number of years. As we face the remainder of the season we are sure David will continue to help us strive for success both on and off the field.”

Also Read  SRH vs CSK Match Preview, Dream11 Predictions

It is also noteworthy that, David Warner is the most successful overseas batsman in the history of the IPL with 5,447 runs from 148 matches in his name which came at an average of 42.22 and strike rate of 140.13. He is the only IPL player to have scored 50 half-centuries in the tournament. He became SRH captain in 2015 and in his four years of captaincy in 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2020, SRH reached the playoffs three times and won the title in 2016.

However, fans questioned SRH’s decision and backed David Warner as well.

Here is how fans reacted to SRH’s decision to remove David Warner from captaincy:

facebook whatsapp twitter linkedin

Check Also

How many cricket stadiums are there in India

How many cricket stadiums are there in India? Which are the top 5 grounds?

4 mins read : India is the hub of cricket now. Since India won the 1983 World Cup in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *