Sri Lanka World Cup Team

Sri Lanka World Cup Team 2019 Has Been Announced

3 mins read :

Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the ICC World Cup Squad 2019 by surprise addition of a bunch of players and omission of some big players. The board has named Dimuth Karunaratne as the captain for the Sri Lanka World Cup team. After choosing the captain, the board has announced the World Cup squad on the following day 18th April 2019.

Sri Lanka Cricket has made surprising inclusion of Jeevan Mendis, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lahiru Thirimanne, Milinda Siriwardana, and Avishka Fernando in the 15-man World Cup squad. Former Captain Angela Mathews has also made come back to the team after suffering a left hamstring injury. He made a comeback in Super Provincial One Day Tournament which was a screening test for the selection of Sri Lanka World Cup team. He scored 227 runs in four innings to impress the team selectors.

Opening Pair of Sri Lanka World Cup Team

Sri Lanka World Cup Team
Dimuth Karunaratne

The inclusion of Karunaratne has made way for a new opening pair for the Sri Lanka World Cup team. The skipper may open innings with Avishka Fernando or Thirimanne. Fernando is the youngster who has phenomenal skills of defensive batting as well as power hitting capability. The 21-year old opener made debut in 2018 against Australia in the home series. Thirimane played his last ODI in 2017. He was the part of ICC World Cup 2015. The left-hand opener has made another comeback due to his exceptional experience and last World Cup stats.

Also Read  Pakistan World Cup Team 2019, Amir Out, Hosnain In

Wicket-keeper of Sri Lanka World Cup Team

Sri Lanka World Cup Team
Kusal Perera

Kusal Perera has passed the fitness test after suffering from a hamstring injury. Due to his injury, he missed the series against South Africa. In the World Cup, he will take the gloves from Niroshon Dickwella. Dickwella has to miss the World Cup 2019, due to his poor performance.

All-rounders of Sri Lanka World Cup Team

Sri Lanka World Cup Team
Kusal Mendis

The selecting committee has shown their faith on Kusal Mendis and Dhananjaya de Silva, even after their unconvincing performances as per their ability. Isuru Udana has made his World Cup debut due to his power-packed batting in South Africa series. The performances were good enough for the selectors to choose him in Sri Lanka World Cup team. Udana and Thisara Perera will be two pace bowling all-rounder for the Sri Lanka World Cup team 2019.

Jeevan Mendis and Milinda Siriwardana are two spinner all-rounder. They can add more depth to their batting as well as the bowling line up.

The bowling attack of Sri Lanka World Cup Team

Sri Lanka World Cup Team
Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga is going to play his fourth World Cup. The board has decided to drop him from the captaincy to focus on bowling. He will lead the bowling attack with Suranga Lakmal, and Nuwal Pradeed.

The selecting committee has made another surprise by selecting the leg spinner Vandersay instead of the mystery spinner Akila Dhananjaya.

Stand by players of Sri Lanka World Cup Team

Sri Lanka World Cup Team
Oshada Fernando

Sri Lanka Cricket has also selected four stands by players, in case any player from the preliminary 15-man squad will face injury. They have named Kasun Rajitha, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, and Wanindu Hasaranga as the backup players. As per ICC, any board can make changes of the squad on or before 23rd April 2019.

Also Read  BCB Has Announced Bangladesh World Cup Team 2019

Sri Lanka World Cup team 2019

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera (wk), Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Pradeep.

facebook whatsapp twitter linkedin

Check Also

Shubman Gill

Sunil Gavaskar calls the poor form of Shubman Gill a ‘bad patch’

2 mins read : Team India have tried quite a few openers in the longer format. While many failed …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *